The Fugitive Poets

Walter Clyde Curry, Donald Davidson, William Yandell Elliott, Sidney Hirsch, Andrew Lytle, Merrill Moore, John Crowe Ransom, Alan Tate, and Robert Penn Warren.

In the spring of 1922, a literary movement began at Vanderbilt University centering on the little magazine The Fugitive. The young men named above formed the foundation of the agrarian movement in American literature: they were to establish the “New Criticism,” which transformed the study of literature in American universities, and to write novels and poetry that garnered the highest literary honors in the United States. The Special Collections’ holdings of the Fugitive Poets is extensive, containing books, journals, magazine contributions (including copies of The Fugitive), correspondence, and secondary material related to this important movement in American letters.

This entry was posted in Collections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *